Skip to main content

The Golf Society of Australia was launched in February 1983 with a 'hickory' golf day at Royal Melbourne Golf Club.

Discussions and planning had begun in early 1981 after the idea of forming a society to research and preserve the history of golf in Australia was put forward by Dr Ken Shepherd. Several meetings took place, and a Constitution and objectives were drawn up, which have formed the basis of the Society’s activities.

These objectives are:

  • establishment of a golf museum
  • collection of golf memorabilia
  • regular golf days
  • dinners with guest speakers

The proposal to form a Museum was taken to the Australian Golf Union (AGU), the governing body of golf in Australia. AGU By-Law No 10, forming a Museum Committee, was then passed, the membership being the Committee of the newly formed Golf Society of Australia.

The objectives of the Museum Committee are:

  • To collect or otherwise acquire any items of historical golfing nature
  • To decide and determine the standard and quality of items relating to golf which are of a historical nature and eligible for display as museum pieces
  • To categorise and arrange historical golf items as museum pieces
  • To compile, publish, decipher and annotate any golfing literature, illustrations or photographs for the purpose of recording the history of golf
  • To compile and amend from time to time a list of historical golfing national records

The relationship forged with the Australian Golf Union continues with Golf Australia, the organisation formed in 2006 following a merger with Women’s Golf Australia. The Society also has strong links with state golfing bodies. Contact details are available via the Golf Australia website.

A message from our President

It is with great honour that I write as the newly elected President of the Golf Society of Australia.

At the 41st Annual General Meeting myself and Graeme Ryan retired from our respective roles as Honorary Secretary and President, having served the maximum six-year terms.

I thoroughly, enjoyed all aspects of my role from planning and running events, getting to know the members, making wonderful friends and contacts, and learning to play hickory golf. I would personally like to thank Graeme and the many committee members I worked with through the years.

On behalf of the Society and its members  I would like to congratulate Graeme on his Presidency; the Society has benefited from his initiatives and dedication to the role.

The Society has raised its International and National profiles and excitingly found a formal home at the Australian Golf Centre in Cheltenham Melbourne under Graeme’s leadership.

We wish him well and look forward to seeing him at events in the future .

Work on managing the collection has made great progress in recent years.

Updates to our policies and archival software systems and a formal commitment from Golf Australia  has allowed the engagement of a part time Curator who will assist us continue this important work.

As President, I will work with my Committee to ensure the Society’s vision to “Preserve share and celebrate the history of golf in Australia “ continues to be at the fore front of our planning and work, along with exploring ways to improve member benefits, event engagement, and communications.

About me, I am a long-time active member of the Metropolitan Golf Club and have served the club in several capacities. I also enjoy the course and camaraderie of the Portsea Golf Club. Alongside my contribution to the Society and I am an avid volunteer at the many golf tournaments held in Victoria.

We have a diverse and active membership so I must acknowledge and thank the many members who have volunteered their time on the Committee which has seen all aspects of the Society grow.

The future is bright, and I look forward to leading my enthusiastic and very capable Committee.

Kim Hastie 

A happy handover new President Kim Hastie with Graeme Ryan 


2023-24 Office Bearers and Committee

President – Miss KA (Kim) Hastie

Secretary – Mrs S (Stella) Cugley

Treasurer – Mrs DG (Grace) Rew

Patron – Mrs Anne Court AM

Mr JW (John) Scheffer – Collections Committee

Mr GJ (Greg) Bain – Branding

Mr J (John) Trevorrow – The Long Game Editor & Collections Commitee

Mr G (G) Nicholson – Collection Committee

Mr A (Aaron) Newnham – Events

Dinners and Interviews – Vacancy on committee

Hickory Golf Co Ordinator:
Mr JA (John) Trevorrow

Golf Australia Nominee Mr DA (David) Greenhill

Vision Statement

“Preserve, share and celebrate the history of golf in Australia.”

Past Presidents


Doug Bachli


Burtta Cheney


Ken Shepherd
RFD, VRD and Bar,
MBBS (Melb) *


Peter Rosenhain
DFC, BSc *


Don Lawrence *


Daryl Cox *


Anne Court AM


Keith Wood AM *


Ian Rennick *


Geoff Vincent

2016 – 2022

Graeme Ryan

2022 –

Kim Hastie