Skip to main content

This event is played annually between Golf Society of Australia and the Australian Golf Heritage Society (previously known as the Golf Collectors Society)

This Event was the idea of Dr Ken Shepherd the Golf Society of Australia and Mr. Tom Moore of the Golf Collectors Society at a friendly match at Royal Melbourne Golf Club in 2002. he purpose of the Event is to promote friendship between the two Groups and seek to preserve the History of Golf as it was played before 1940, with wooden shafted golf clubs.

The Al Howard Memorial Trophy was borne the following year at Royal Sydney Golf Club, when the Howard Family most generously offered the New South Amateur Championship Trophy, won by Mr. T.E Howard in 1921, as the Trophy for this Event.

The format for this unique ‘Event’,(the only one of its kind in Australia) is now played over 18 holes of Handicap Match play, with the winning side having won the ‘Most Holes’.

Al Howard trophy

Trophy Winners

2003 RSGC (Golf Collectors)

2004 Not Played

2005 Woodlands GC (Golf Collectors)

2006 Not Played

2007 Not Played

2008 Not Played

2009 Thurgoona (AGHS)

2010 Federal GC (GSA)

2011 Eden GC (AGHS)

2012 Tocumal GC (AGHS)

2013 Youani GC (AGHS)

2014 Kingston Heath (AGHS)

2015 Wagga Wagga (AGHS)

2016 Sandhurst GC (GSA)

2017 Royal Canberra (AGHS)