Skip to main content

This Event celebrates the great contribution Don Lawrence made as a journalist for the Age Newspaper, writing about Golf, all over the World.

Don also served as President of the Society for two years before his retirement 1994. A mixed Event, first played in 1996, it was won by Mrs J. Griffith and Mr Bruce Langford-Jones.

This popular Event is normally played at Woodlands Golf Club as a 4BBB Stableford event, over 18 holes with many novelty prizes.

Trophy Winners

1996 Mrs J Griffith & Mr B Langford Jones

1997 Mr & Mrs D Rew

1998 Mr & Mrs M Eise

1999 Mr & Mrs D Rew

2000 Mr M Fitchett & Mrs D Davis

2001 Mrs M Reid & Mr J Dale

2002 Mrs J Griffith & Mr J Dale

2003 Mrs B Wait & Mr H Ham

2004 Mrs M Allen & Mrs B Coutie

2005 Mrs M Nadalin & Mr J Wilson

2006 Mr I Rennick & Mr R Stannard

2007 Mr & Mrs P Gompertz

2008 Mr & Mrs N Davies

2009 Mr B Donaldson & Mr M Eise

2010 Mr C George and Mr P Gompertz

2011 Mr I Rennick & Mr F Davis

2012 Mr C George & Mr P Gompertz

2013 Mr G Ryan & Mr P Gompertz

2014 Mr P Burgess & Mr A Lang

2015 Mr J Black & Mr J Philp

2016 Mr M Findlay & Mr R Kirby

2017 Mr A Rule & Mr A Thomson

2018 Mr A Rule & Mr A Thomson

2019 Mr J Ryan & Mr S Sheedy

2020 Not played

2021 Morag North & Bruce Sutherland

2022 Tony Rule & David Thomas