Skip to main content

This event is played to honour the Memory of a friend of the Golf Society of Australia, champion golfer Mr Doug Bachli MBE.

First played in 1988, it was won by KHGC Professional Mr Lindsay Gitsham. Doug served as the first President of the Golf Society of Australia and played an important role in the Society becoming the History Committee of the Australian Golf Union in 1982.

The Trophy for this event is the ‘Australian Senior Golf Championship’ Trophy, won by Doug in 1964 and donated by him for this event, which is played each year at his home Club, Victoria Golf Club.

The format for this mixed event is Handicap Stableford, over 18 holes

After the golf, the Annual General Meeting is held, and Cocktail Party follows.

Trophy Winners

1988 Lindsay Gitsham

1989 Daryl Cox

1990 Peter Rosenhain

1991 Daryl Cox

1992 Daryl Cox

1993 Daryl Cox

1994 Ruth Summerfield

1995 Perry Somers

1996 Andrew Coogan

1997 Norm Davies

1998 John Wilson

1999 Glenn Carboon

2000 John Lindsay

2001 Marjorie Nadalin

2002 John Lindsay

2003 Geoff Cupples

2004 John Scrivener

2005 John Scrivener

2006 Geoff Cupples

2007 Geoff Cupples

2008 Frank Greig

2009 Ian Rennick

2010 Murray Cropley

2011 Richard Curtis

2012 Kim Hastie

2013 David Hill

2014 Graeme Ryan

2015 Russell Fynmore

2016 Rod Hiscox (9holes)

2017 Neil Walker

2018 Max Findlay

2019 Rod Hiscox

2020 Geoff Cupples

2021 Moira Drew

2022 Brian Lowe

2023 Justin Ryan