Skip to main content
Monthly Archives

October 2022

Annual Meeting Day-Riversdale GC-Tuesday 15 November 2022

By Events, 2022 No Comments

2022 Doug Bachli Trophy and 41st Annual General Meeting report

Grey skies and a couple of hail showers greeted the players as they arrived for their golf at Riversdale Golf Club, the host club for this year’s Annual Meeting Day.

The Doug Bachli Trophy is a popular event to win but the threatening skies did not deter the field and they headed to the fairways of Riversdale.

The Individual Stableford competition saw some good scores returned with new member Brian Lowe winning the day with 39 points and Riversdale member Paul Podbury was runner up on 37 points.

Deb Goddard was women’s winner with 28 points and Kim Hastie runner up on 27 points.

After golf the 41st Annual General Meeting was held.

President Graeme Ryan gave is Annual Report and spoke of the society’s activities and how pleasing it was to complete a full program of events without any interruptions.

He reported on a budget submission to Golf Australia and their subsequent commitment to funding, allowing collection work to progress and see the engagement a part time curator.

Graeme reported on his objectives and commitment to continue good relationships with our International historical bodies and create strengthened communications between the Australian State heritage bodies.

Graeme spoke of The Long Game our popular newsletter, which continues to inform and entertain with interesting, well chosen, well written articles. Editorial quality and presentation have steadily improved in recent years due to the experience and expertise of its editors and contributors.

In closing he gave thanks to his committee and the many committee members he served with.

Secretary Kim read the election results, advising that Graeme Ryan and herself finish their terms as President and Honorary Secretary having both served the maximum six years.

Kim was elected President, Grace Rew was re-elected as Treasurer and Stella Cugley was warmly welcomed as the new Honorary Secretary.

On behalf of the Committee and members of the Society, Kim gave thanks to Graeme for his initiatives and dedicated work in the role and presented him with a gift.

Morag North gave thanks and presented a gift to Kim for her many years of service as Secretary.

Greg Bain, Morag North, and John Scheffer were re-elected, and Aaron Newnham elected to committee after serving a co-opted term.

Following the meeting the traditional Cocktail Party was held with fun and photos enjoyed by all.

The Society thanks Riversdale Golf Club for their generous hospitality ensuring the close of a successful 2022 season

Kim Hastie President   November 2022   

Doug Bachli Trophy winner Brian Lowe with Graeme Ryan