Skip to main content

Doug Bachli Trophy

2021 Doug Bachli Trophy and 40th Annual General Meeting report

By Events, 2021, Doug Bachli Trophy No Comments

Royal Melbourne GC was the host club for this year’s Annual Meeting Day.
A very warm summer afternoon saw a good field of 34 players enjoy their rounds, competing for the Doug Bachli Trophy. It was pleasing to see a good mix of regular and new members participating in the final event for the year.

The Individual Stableford event produced some good scores with Royal Melbourne member Moira Drew winning the day with 36 points on a countback from the Men’s winner Doug Francis. The Men’s Runner up was David Rew with 35points.
Secretary Kim was the Women’s Runner up on 33points.

Following golf, the 40th Annual General Meeting was held.
President Ryan reported on the society’s activities and the organising difficulties that were faced again by the committee due to ongoing pandemic issues but remains confident a full 2022 program will be enjoyed.

He reported on the opening of the Australian Golf Centre at Cheltenham and the successful move of the collection and library into the new home of golf.

Secretary Kim reported the election results with the Officers of the Association Graeme, Grace and Kim being re-elected to their respective roles.

Kim gave thanks to Tony Rule who retired after five years of service.
In his time on committee, Tony made a significant contribution, he engaged in several aspects of the Society notably Convening the Dinners and Historians forums and was a regular participant at events. Kim referenced his passion for golf history and noted he was instrumental along with Greg Bain in setting up the Society’s Facebook page.

Greg Bain our Long Game Editor was re-elected for a second term and long-time member Ian Rowell was elected to the committee. Ian brings a wealth of experience and was welcomed to the committee.

To close the meeting, Patron Anne Court gave thanks to the Committee for another year of hard-work year for the benefit of all Society members.

Following the AGM, the traditional Cocktail Party was enjoyed.

The Society thanks Royal Melbourne Golf Club and all staff for their hospitality, ensuring another successful Annual Meeting Day and finishing 2021 on a happy note.

Honorary Secretary
Kim Hastie
December 2021

2017 Doug Bachli Trophy

By 2017, Doug Bachli Trophy No Comments

Doug Bachli Trophy at Victoria Golf Club

The Doug Bachli Trophy was recently contested at its regular venue the always challenging Victoria Golf Club.

A good field went out to play the annual Stableford competition on a warm spring afternoon. The course was in wonderful condition and thoroughly enjoyed by all.

Neil Walker won the Doug Bachli Trophy and Men’s competition with an impressive 41 points. Tony Lang was runner-up on 35 points.

Morag North was the Women’s winner with 32 points and Virginia Gorrell the runner up with 31 points.

The 36th Annual General Meeting and Cocktail Party followed the golf.

Doug Bachli winner Neil Walker with Graeme Ryan

Past President Geoff Vincent AM was honoured with Life membership to the Golf Society

Women’s winner Morag North

Hickory Championship winner Mango Maguire

2018 Doug Bachli Trophy and AGM

By 2018, Doug Bachli Trophy No Comments

19 November – Riversdale Golf Club

The Doug Bachli and AGM go to Riversdale

The Society’s final golf event the Doug Bachli Trophy was played a Riversdale Golf Club due to the events regular venue Victoria Golf Club being unable to host due their Greens renovation program.

A good field of 30 played 18-holes of Stableford enjoying the challenging Riversdale hills in very warm conditions, yet despite the hot weather many good scores were returned.


The Men’s winner and Doug Bachli winner was Past winner Max Findlay with 37 points in a countback from Paul Bray.

The Women’s winner also a Past winner was Kim Hastie with 35 points and the Runner up was Virginia Gorrell with 33 points

The Nearest the Pin for the Men was Riversdale member Ron Mathieson and no record for Women

The AGM was held after the golf, the meeting was chaired by President Graeme Ryan

who presented his Annual Report, followed by the Treasurer Neil Walker who presented the Financial report for 2017- 2018.

Secretary Kim Hastie read out the Committee Elections-

Retiring committee members were David Hewitt and Mango Maguire both stepping down due to work commitments.

The Secretary acknowledged Mango for his wonderful contribution as editor of The Long Game for past two years.

The two newly elected committee members were Peter Vlahandreas and Greg Bain who has agreed to take on the role as Editor of The Long Game.

After the AGM the 40 attendees enjoyed a Cocktail Party to close out the night.

President Graeme Ryan and Committee give thanks to the Riversdale Golf for their generous hospitality ensuring another successful day for the members.