Skip to main content
Events2021Doug Bachli Trophy

2020 Doug Bachli Trophy and Annual General Meeting Report

On a superb late summer afternoon the 2020 Doug Bachli Trophy was finally played.
After being postponed twice, a relieved committee and an enthusiastic field of 40 players enjoyed Victoria Golf Club in superb condition.
The Individual Stableford event produced many good scores with Victoria member Geoff Cupples returning a winning score of 40 points, runner up was Max Findlay
Women’s winner was Virgina Gorrell with Morag North the runner up.
Following golf the 39th Annual General Meeting was held.
President Ryan reported on the societies activities and the organising difficulties that were faced by the committee due to the pandemic but remains confident a full 2021 program will be enjoyed.
He reported on the progress of the Australian Golf Centre at Cheltenham and the display opportunities the Golf Society will have.
Graeme advised the committee retirements, thanking Michael Church and Garry Bos for their contribution and lastly Neil Walker who stepped down after three years as Treasurer.
Graeme referenced Neil’s significant contribution not only as Treasurer but for his work on the library and collection.
Secretary Kim reported the election results with Graeme and Kim being re-elected to their respective roles as President and Honorary Secretary.
Grace Rew was elected Treasurer,bringing a wealth of experience in finance and golf club administration.
Murray Cropley and Morag North were re-elected and John Scheffer and John Trevorrow were elected and welcomed to the committee.
The traditional Cocktail Party followed the AGM and it was pleasing to see members mixing again as they enjoyed the club’s hospitality.
The society thanked Victoria Golf Club for their generosity and hospitality, ensuring another successful Annual Meeting Day.
Hon. Secretary 
Kim Hastie 

Leave a Reply