Skip to main content

Don Lawrence Trophy

Don Lawrence Trophy 2021

By 2021, Don Lawrence Trophy No Comments


Woodlands Golf Club Tuesday 11 May 2021

First played in 1996, the Don Lawrence Trophy commemorates and celebrates the
outstanding contribution to sports journalism by one of the Society’s earliest members.
Entries are now open for this annual 4BBB Stableford 18-hole event for individuals,
mixed pairs, women’s and men’s teams. The Secretary will make up teams if necessary.

A mixed pair take out the Don Lawrence Trophy

The Don Lawrence Trophy, our popular 4BBB event was played at its regular venue
Woodlands Golf Club.
The disrupted 2020 year, due the COVID- 19 pandemic, saw some postponed events eventually played for later in the year but unfortunately the Don Lawrence Trophy was unable to be rescheduled.
So, it was no surprise to see a full and enthusiastic field participating this year.
The 39 players made up of regulars and guests, mixed pairings, new members, and past
winning combinations, notably the 2019 winners Justin Ryan and Simon Sheedy took to the
fairways in cool but relatively dry conditions.
Many good scores were returned, and it was on a countback that saw the last-minute pairing of committee member Morag North and new member Bruce Sutherland win the day with 42 points from Ben Jarvis and Sam Forsyth.
In the member /guest category, the husband and wife grouping saw Tony and Di Mclean
playing with Geoff and Elizabeth Knight have a friendly match both returning 36 points with Tony and Di winning on a countback.
Secretary Kim for the benefit of new members and guests, gave some insight into the trophy which was started in 1996 and named in honour of Don Lawrence, recogonising the significant contribution he made to golf journalism.
After golf refreshments were enjoyed as President Graeme Ryan and Kim read the results,
made the presentations, and thanked Woodlands for another very enjoyable day.

Winners – Morag North and Bruce Sutherland 42 pts c/b
Runners up – Ben Jarvis and Sam Forsyth 42 pts
Best score by member/and non-member guest -Tony and Di McLean 36 pts c/b
Best nine out – Charles Wilkins and Paul Burgess 23 points
Best nine in – Kim Hastie and Robert Sarafov 24 points
NTP Men – 11th Dean Mottram – 17th Guenter Oechsle
NTP Women – 11th Kim Hastie

2018 Don Lawrence Trophy

By 2018, Don Lawrence Trophy No Comments

15 May 2018 – Woodlands Golf Club

The annual Don Lawrence Trophy, our popular 4BBB event was played at its regular venue Woodlands Golf Club. The bureau got it right, the predicated wet morning eventuated with heavy showers greeting the players as they arrived. The small field was made up of regular faces, some new members and past winning combinations.

Steady rain fell as players enjoyed the light lunch provided and the odd glass of wine, as we discussed whether play would commence… many were keen but some of the “fair-weathers “ were not so. There was much radar watching and as tee time came around, some clear sky appeared even blue in some parts so the full field got under way and the 18 holes was played in surprisingly fine conditions.

After play Muriel Lawrence Don’s widow along with Brendan Moloney attended the dinner. Last year Muriel moved to South Australia to be closer to her family, so it was nice to see her back in Melbourne and taking the time to come and make the presentation to the winners.


Winners of the Don Lawrence Trophy

Andrew Thomson and Committee member Tony Rule- successfully defended their 2017 win with a fantastic score of 48 points.

Best score by member/ guests – Murray Cropley and Peter Adam 45 pts

Best 9 out – Neil and Claire Walker 25 pts

Best 9 in – Andrew Thomson and Tony Rule 24 pts

NTP 11th Women Kim Hastie 11th Men Anthony Lang
NTP 17th Brian McPhail

President Graeme Ryan thanked Woodlands GC for their wonderful hospitality and another successful and thoroughly enjoyable day.

Andrew accepted the trophy and spoke fondly of his memories of Don Lawrence.