Skip to main content
2020Presidents Trophy

Presidents Trophy at Yarra Yarra Golf Club

Yarra Yarra emerged from the lockdown down rest in superb condition and hosted the rescheduled Presidents Trophy.

President Graeme Ryan and Secretary Kim Hastie welcomed an enthusiastic field of 32 players to this popular event, which has a restriction of only 7 clubs in the bag.

The field was made up of many regulars and it was pleasing to see new members attending.

Nine holes of stroke was played in the morning with the top 4 nett scores progressing to a matchplay playoff in the afternoon.

As the field came in, some great scores were returned and with the help of the Proshop the top four scores were determined and announced at lunch.

Players enjoyed some very generous Yarra catering and those not participating further celebrated another get together with a glass of wine or two.

For the matchplay, players went off the 10th tee with a good gallery following. Top qualifier was John Trevorrow and played fourth qualifier Peter Stickley with Peter prevailing on their second hole the Par 3 11th.

In the other match Andy Phillips qualified second and played third qualifier and first-time entrant Robert Sarafov. Robert won on their first hole.

So, the finalists Peter and Robert progressed down the 12th hole. Both hit good drives and Robert set the scene with a superb iron into the green to sit comfortably.

Peter played a few nice shots in but conceded and Robert was declared this year’s Presidents Trophy winner.  Presentations, thanks you and a glass of champagne was enjoyed as the society successfully completed another event for 2020!

Kim Hastie
Honorary Secretary November 2020

Winner Robert Sarafov with President Graeme Ryan

Finalists Robert and Peter with Secretary Kim

Leave a Reply