Skip to main content

Don Lawrence Trophy – Monday 13 May

 The first major golfing event for 2023 was held at Spring Valley golf club on Monday 15th May.  A field of 31 players lined up for this prestigious 4BBB Stableford event celebrating the enormous life of journalist Don Lawrence who was a major voice in promoting golf through his regular newspaper column. By any standards the impact his words had on both contemporary and emerging golfers who looked most forward to his previews and reviews of tournaments and in particular pennant golf was outstanding. His legacy extended into the GSA where he served as President from 1992-94.

Leading up to the event there was much apprehension as to what the weather would bring.  High rainfall during April and early May (some 200mm) along with significant decreases in temperature were potentially awaiting us again.  However, the players were greeted with sunshine, light wind and warm weather making the course vulnerable that was clearly reflected by some in the scoring.  Included in the field was our current President Kim Hastie and life member Dick Kirby, he also being a life member of Spring Valley Golf club.

So, onto the golf!!

The golf course (a Vern Morcom gem) was set up to allow good scoring and presented in excellent condition.  At 12:30 our field of competitors took to the course for a multi-tee start.

Following the golf players enjoyed snacks and drinks in the club house where the presentations revealed the winners of the Don Lawrence trophy, runner’s up, best front and back nines, longest drive and nearest the pin.  Additionally, the GSA provided a prize for the best member/non-member combination. The competition was very close with the major trophy only being decided on a count back.

And the winners were:

  • Don Lawrence trophy: Jenny Picking and David Rew C/B
  • Runner’s up: Jamie Holland and Dean Mottram
  • Member/non-member: Peter Crowe and Travis Cox
  • Best front nine: Jamie Holland and Dean Mottram
  • Best back nine: Jenny Picking and David Rew
  • Long drive: Men: Dean Mottram   Women: Stella Cugley
  • Nearest the pin 3rd hole: Men: Bruce Sutherland   Women: Stella Cugley
  • Nearest the pin 10th hole: Men: John Scheffer  Women: Jenny Picking

Congratulations to all the winners and all who competed.  While the competition is exciting it is the coming together and sharing each other’s company that is important.

A big shout out to our Secretary Stella Cugley whose organisation was simply the best.  Thank you to Spring Valley Golf Club for a wonderful day enjoyed by all (based on some very flattering and positive feedback) and to Superintendent Craig Anthony (ex-Royal Melbourne) and his team who continue to improve the layout and condition pf the course.

We look forward to catching up with everyone again our future events.



Leave a Reply